Top Ten Books I HAD To Buy…But Are Still Sitting On My Shelf Unread

© 2012 The Broke and the Bookish

I’m still finding my feet in the blogging world. An actual review is yet to appear here, although I’m aiming to get my first one up by the end of this week! In the meanwhile I discovered that every Tuesday, book bloggers and enthusiasts alike, head over to The Broke and the Bookish to check out their weekly meme – Top Ten Tuesday. I’m going to be participating in Top Ten Tuesday from now on, it involves compiling a top ten list on whatever book related topic they’ve concocted for that week. So here you have my top ten books that I just HAD to buy but still haven’t read!…

1. The Casual Vacancy by J K Rowling

Okay, so I’m a Harry Potter lover for sure and when I heard Ms Rowling was writing a new book of course I was interested, very very interested. Well, I don’t know what I was expecting but it’s about as far away from the world of Harry Potter as it’s possible to get and I don’t know if I can bring myself to read it just yet.

2. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult

I had heard a lot about this book and bought it when the film came out a few years ago, wondering if it could squeeze a few tears out of me. I still haven’t seen the film because I decided that I’d read the book first. I must get round to it.

3. Paper Towns by John Green

After reading The Fault in Our Stars, (which ,if you haven’t already heard, is brilliant!) I was swept into a “Read everything ever written by John Green” frenzy. Paper Towns is the last book of his I have to read. I can’t decide if I’m trying to save it or if I’m just all John Greened out.

4. The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window & Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson

This caught my eye when browsing Amazon, the title is pretty unique to say the least! I was later delighted to find it was only 60p on Kindle and bought it immediately…I didn’t read it immediately.

5. Hunting Lila by Sarah Alderson

Umm, I’ve had this one on loan from my school library for 8 months. I’ve renewed it multiple times but sometimes I forget and so I’ve racked up around £6.00 in fines. Why don’t I just return it? Well I do really want to read it and it would be a waste if I return it now considering I could have already bought my own copy.

6. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo

I’ve had this for absolutely ageees. I bought it out from storage before the new film came out intending to read it however it’s a rather thick book and I didn’t have the resolve to start it.

7. The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

I love the title of this book and bought it on impulse. It’s a coming of age type story which I haven’t been in the mood for lately. When I am, I’m sure I’ll eat this book up in seconds.

8. Reality: A Very Short Introduction by Judy Froman

A non-fiction book which asks the question WHAT IS REALITY? I’m not convinced this book will give a satisfying answer but I’ll give it a go once I get my philosophical head on.

9. Hunger by Michael Grant

This is the 2nd book in Grant’s Gone series. I read Gone in a day, it had great characters and an interesting plot – everyone over the age of 15 had disappeared and those left were stuck in a bubble called the FAYZ. I was desperate to find out what happened next but at the time was unable to get my hands on a copy. When I did I just wasn’t as desperate to read it anymore.

10. Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding

I saw and enjoyed the film then bought the book. I skimmed through it and from what I could tell it was pretty similar to the film so I wasn’t compelled to read it right away and put it to the side to read another day…

I have to say, this list was pretty easy to create seen as I have way way more than 10 books on my to-read shelf! I ended up choosing books that I remember absolutely pining for but somehow once they arrived, always got stood up for some other book. What do you think of my list, am I missing out on anything? Do you have any books that you’ve just never got round to reading?

L

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

34 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I HAD To Buy…But Are Still Sitting On My Shelf Unread

  1. The Casual Vacancy made my list as well! I hope I’ll get around to finishing it sometime this year. I think the size of it is keeping me away from reading it which is kind of ridiculous because Order of the Phoenix is a really big book as well.

    Paper Towns made my list as well,but I’m kind of keeping away from reading John Green at the moment because I was disappointed with TFioS lol. I hope you enjoy PT when you read it, it’s my friend’s favourite John Green book :).

    Enjoy your books when you get around to reading them!

    • flightypig says:

      Your actually the first person I’ve met who was disappointed with TFioS haha, I’m sure your not the only one though. Thanks, odds are I will as I like all his stuff so far. “When” being the key word there – my to-read list is never ending but I suppose that’s the way it should be 🙂

      • Ahaha I get that a lot, but after reading Looking for Alaska TFioS fell flat for me. My tbr list is neverending as well! And I just discovered that my local bookstore chain is having an offer where you don’t have to pay for shipping at all and now I’m so tempted to buy a book lol. We’ll see because I’m so broke at the same time.

  2. flightypig says:

    Ah okay, I liked them equally I think, but it’s been so long since i’ve read Looking for Alaska. Sounds good, you don’t have to pay for shipping on Amazon.co.uk ever so I can never use that as an excuse to buy books. I have a Kindle though and I really need to stop buying any old e-book, it’s so easy to overspend without realising, you just keep clicking!

  3. Welcome to the world of book blogging! Joining in with memes like TTT is a great way to get started. It’s a fun way to find new book blogs to read and to get yours out there. Reviews are good, too, of course, but you’ll get there 🙂

    Oh, and I’m with you on John Green. I loved THE FAULT IN OUR STARS and immediately bought PAPER TOWNS after reading it. Have I read the latter yet? Uh, no … soon, though!

  4. bookburgh says:

    Thanks for stopping by! I’m also new to book blogging, so maybe we can learn about this together? I’m a huge fan of John Green. I have been reading him for years and I always read his books as soon as they come out. Then I have nothing to read by him and it makes me sad. BUT then I REREAD his books and it makes me happy. Haha. Paper Towns is one of my favorites. Also, The Sky is Everywhere is so freaking good. But you definitely need to read it when you’re in the mood for a coming of age, emotion draining type of read.

    • flightypig says:

      No problem, you too.Yeah of course, that would be nice 🙂 Tehe, once I finish Paper Towns I’ll have to start rereading his books too! I’m thinking I’ll leave The Sky is Everywhere till the holidays when I can really get into it.

  5. gglitz4 says:

    I’ve read Bridget Jones and it was really funny, I am planning on getting to the sequel soon. I have yet to read anything by John Green. All I hear are great things so I am gonna have to get on that soon.

    • flightypig says:

      Yeah I loved the movie, it’s been a while since I’ve watched it so maybe now I can go back to the book with a pair of fresh eyes. I’ve heard there’s going to be a 3rd book and a 3rd movie coming out which I’m looking forward to. Yes definitely try some John Green, he really does deserve all the positive reviews.

  6. TCV and Paper Towns are both really good. I have yet to brave Les Miserables. It’s so thick… :X

    My TTT

  7. I read my sister’s Keeper. The movie is a lot better then the book (which almost never happens). I really didn’t like the ending to the book. I like your list though.

  8. Ruby says:

    I enjoyed the Bridget Jones movies, but the books are pretty fun, too. There’s a seen in the second book that is particularly funny, especially if you’ve seen the Masterpiece Theatre version of P&P.

    Also–you’re killing me! You have a copy of Hunting Lila and you haven’t read it?! I’ve been dying to read that one!

    Welcome to the blogging community!

  9. eservey26 says:

    I love this! It happens to me ALL the time. It’s just too hard to resist adding another book to my collection even though usually I’m in the middle of 2-5 books at a time and always have a growing list I need to read. I have read Paper Towns and I loved it–pretty much anything by John Green is great. I also read Les Miserables (no, not the whole thing, just the abridged) and found it unexplainably amazing and (not to be cliche but) life-changing. I currently have the full version patiently sitting on my shelf waiting to be read.

  10. Lisa says:

    I have My Sister’s Keeper and Bridget Jones’s Diary on my shelf too. Both unread. Paper Towns was good.

  11. I have a bigger bundle of books lying unread with me; but going to read them all. You should definitely watch Les Miserables; it is one of its own kind!!

  12. saradavies says:

    I’ve heard My Sister’s Keeper is an amaaaazing book! I myself have also not read it haha, but I have seen the movie and I’ve been told that it’s different to the book! So might be worth reading at some point!

  13. I thought I would just DIE because I had to wait until Christmas to get The Diviners by Libba Bray (I had a suspicion my fiance was buying it for me, so I held off). And here we are, after months of anticipation, it’s still sitting on my to-read shelf, along with an ARC of Wedding Night by Sophie Kinsella (one of my favorite authors). Know exactly where you’re coming from.

  14. Pragya says:

    I have had The Casual Vacancy since forever too.

  15. Melinda says:

    Les Miserables is actually number 1 on my list too! 😉
    I loved My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult

  16. Hi, I’m new to blogging as well and I was wondering if you could tell me how you got your pictures like that?

    The Casual Vacancy is great. J.K Rowling’s voice is prevalent so it’s still similar even if the subject matter is very different to Harry Potter. I almost cried at the end.

    Also, read Paper Towns!

    • flightypig says:

      I got the pictures from goodreads and inserted them one by one, I also went on advanced settings and there’s a border option, I put black borders on some of them. To be honest it took a lot of fiddling around as depending on where you clicked the pictures didn’t go in a straight line. Also I think the theme changes how the pictures align. I don’t know if that helps very much and I’m sure there’s a better way to do it. I’m thinking next time I’ll group the pictures together on word or something and edit in there, save it as an image and insert the one picture in one go. Ask me again if I wasn’t clear on anything 🙂

  17. Nice picks! I still need to read The Sky is Everywhere. I’ve heard such good things about it.

Leave a Reply

Booky Thoughts and Me

Book reviews and pondering thoughts of a down to earth person

Claire's Own Words

In the words of the fiction writer ......... Claire Mitchell Tsamados

Bookworming 101

Ready to enroll?

The Sleepless Bookworm

Book talk from an insomniac book addict

Miss Print

A blog about books, libraries and some other stuff besides. (Since 2007)

Busty Book Bimbo

A life measured in books and cups of tea

jesse s. hanson Words

Various writings of a Spiritual aspirant

Misty Midwest Mossiness

Mossy Mutterings and Musings

The Bliss Project

Trying new things, living out loud and being amazing!

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

FeralShorton

Handmade pictures and words.

FlightyPig

YA book reviews & more ...

I Just Read About That...

Full moon, at our house, Jan 30, 2010

